Get your tickets for the 2024 Lakeside World Championship now

2012 Winmau World Masters winners, Julie Gore and

The 2012 Men’s World Masters final was contested by No.1 Seed Stephen Bunting and No.7 Seed Tony O’Shea to provide a mouth-watering 13 set  finale of the 39th Winmau World Masters. The only guarantee being that there would be a new Men’s World Masters name engraved on the famous trophy…….Game On!

Stephen started the better of the two as he won the opening 2 legs and the set courtesy of Tony leaving a single 3 and being unable to hit the d-1.

Stephen then took the first set before Tony levelled at one set apiece. Stephen went ahead again at 2-1 but in a ding-dong battle Tony checked out on 72 to make it 2-2 at the first interval.

Stephen won the first leg after the break and then hit 126 to win the next and go 3-2 ahead. Tony won the first 2 legs of the next set to level again at 3-3.  Tony’s second 180 of the match wasn’t enough to win the 1st leg of the 7th set and Stephen then won the next to move ahead 4-3.  But Tony came back yet again to take the 1st leg of the next. Stephen hit his 2nd maximum of the match to level 1-1 in legs and followed it with his third 180 before checking out on d-18 to go into the second interval 5-3.

Once again Stephen was  first  to win the opening  leg after the break, but Tony hit another 180 in the next. However, it wasn’t enough to stem the high scoring of Stephen who then went 6-3 ahead – just 2 legs away from the title. Tony wasn’t out of it as he hit yet another 180 – only to see Stephen hit a 180 of his own. The score was now 6-4.

The opening leg of the 11th set went in Stephen’s favour and a fantastic 146 checkout gave the No.1 Seed a famous 7-4 victory.  It was his first major title and he has now become the first man to win both the Boys Masters title in 2001 and now the Men’s Masters title in 2012

Julie Gore, the 2010 Women’s World Master won the 1st leg  of the final with a bull finish and then took the next with tops before making it a hat-trick of legs before Deta, who last won the title in 1994, got a leg back to make it 3-1.

A 180 in the 5th leg got her to match dart – she missed at the first ask, but not the next to be crowned 2012 Women’s World Master by a score of 4-1.