Finnish Open 2011 Results

England’s Paul Jennings was seeded as #16 but at the end of the day he was #1.  Paul was on fire all day long. He took all his games with a clear score. He did not give his opponents more than one leg until the final against Finland’s Sami Sanssi. Sami, who was Runner-Up 2007, missed couple of doubles to level the score and Paul went on to clear victory and championship.  In the semifinals Paul beat #2 seed Clive Barden (ENG) and Sami beat another unseeded Finn Petri Korte. Both Sami and Petri are members of Finnish National Team. 

Womens final was all Swedish. Anna Forsmark had to fight all the way before Maud Jansson gave up. Ann did a good run to the final: she beat Finland’s ranking #2 Lumi Silvan in the quarterfinal 4 legs against 2. In the semifinal Finland’s Maret Liiri, seed #1 in this competition,  took only one leg. 229 players from 8 countries took part in the men’s singles event. 55 players from 5 countries took part in women’s singles.
photos copyright Risto Spora

Mens Results Pos

Womens Results

Paul Jennings ENG 1 Anna Forsmark SWE Sami Sanssi FIN 2 Maud Jansson SWE Clive Barden ENG 3 Maret Liiri FIN Petri Korte FIN 3 Kirsi Viinikainen FIN Asko Niskala FIN 5 Lumi Silvan FIN Markus Jokikokko FIN 5 Sari Nikula FIN Markku Kinnunen FIN 5 Kaisu Rekinen FIN Jari Nieminen FIN 5 Tarja Salminen FIN Razma Madars LAT 9 Anastasia Shtareva RUS Wesley Harms NED 9 Gineke Hoekstra NED Hannu Kauppinen FIN 9 Maria Lindström FIN Janne Kiiski FIN 9 Pirjo Ruotsalainen FIN Ulf Ceder FIN 9 Anne Lokkinen FIN Paul Carter ENG 9 Anu Rasmus FIN Teuvo Haverinen FIN 9 Grethel Glasö SWE Vesa Nuutinen FIN 9 Reetta Niemi FIN Vesa Tiilikainen FIN 17 Anna-Liisa Teittinen FIN Marko Englund FIN 17 Eija Axelsson FIN Peter Melin SWE 17 Marika Juhola FIN Pasi Partanen FIN 17 Piia Alatalo FIN Sami Reijonen FIN 17 Soile Jalvanti FIN Antti Olkkonen FIN 17 Angeli Holmberg SWE Anssi Montonen FIN 17 Pia Airisniemi SWE Dennis Nilsson SWE 17 Anneli Oravainen FIN Juuso Raittila FIN 17 Riikka Korsgrund FIN Jonny Nijs NED 17 Terhi Oravainen FIN Jani Haavisto FIN 17 Jane Shearing ENG Gas Cousins ENG 17 Heli Sorsa FIN Yalcon Genkertepe GER 17 Merja Immonen FIN Kimmo Leppänen SWE 17 Susanna Haatanen FIN Oskar Lukasiak SWE 17 Elina Alponen FIN Torbjörn Gustafsson FIN 17 Outi Piiroinen FIN