Get your tickets for the 2024 Lakeside World Championship now

Martin Adams and Deta Hedman the first HAL Open Darts singles Champions

Press release: Venray, Monday the 24th of March 2014

In the weekend of the 22nd and 23rd  of March the first ever HAL Open Darts tournament was played at Evenementen HAL Venray the Netherlands. A brand new international darts event  set up in less than 3 months and despite this the event had over 720 entries.

The total prize fund of € 17.700,00 and BDO, WDF and Zuiderduin Masters ranked an interesting event for national and international players who alo could win a ticket to play the Zuiderduin Masters 2014.

A variety of national and international  players came to Venray and from these world top players reigning WDF World Cup singels champion, Wesley Harms and 3 times Lakeside World Professional Darts champion Martin Adams reached the mens singles finals.

Martin Adams won this final over best of 5 sets 3-1 after losing the first set to Wesley with 3-1. But from set two Martin Adams took over control and equalized with a 3-0 set victory. Set 3 and 4 all ended in 3-1 for Wolfie who claimed the first HAL Open men singles title. Averages;  Wesley Harms – 91.70 and Martin Adams – 93.04

Deta Hedman won the ladies single finals with a 2-0 victory over 9 times Lakeside World Professional Ladies Darts champion, Trina Gulliver. The reigning Winmau World Maters ladies, Dark Destroyer Deta Hedman was 2-1 behind in the first set but won 2-3 to make 0-1. In te second set Trina made a 110 check out for 1-2 but in the 4 legs Deta made 1-3 to win the ladies title

Averages;  Deta Hedman – 72.99 and Trina Gulliver – 61.53

Colin Roelofs won the boys final and a ticket to play the Zuiderduin Masters Youth event with a 5-1 victory over Mike van Duijvenbode. The HAL Open Darts girls title was for Kyana Frauenfelder who beat the very unlucky Belgian girl Shauni Wastyn who missed so many matchdarts in the sixth and in the final leg. Kyana won 4-3

On Saturday the pairs event were played.

Martin Atkins and Rachel Brooks won the mixed pairs title with a 5-3 victory over Robbie Green and Deta Hedman

English ladies Rebecca Rose and Casey Gallagher claimed the ladies pairs title.They won the 7th and final leg in a match against Zoe Jones from England and Anneke Kuijten from the Netherlands

Robbie Green playing with Jan Dekker won the mens pairs final. In a best of 9 legs they won 5-2 from a local pair, Marco Pol and Jeffrey van de Ven.


HAL Open Darts Organization