Get your tickets for the 2024 Lakeside World Championship now

Polish Darts Organisation celebrates 3rd anniversary

04 September 2012

Three years has passed since the Polish Darts Organisation became a full member of WDF.

It was in 2009, in Charlotte, USA where Poland joined the biggest darts family in the world and the history of the Polish steel darts started.

In 2010 when Poland made its debut in WDF’s Europe Cup in Turkey and a year later (2011) in World Cup in Ireland.

2010 was also the time when the first international tournament was played in Poland. In Poznan, over 250 players battled for the First Polish Open titles with Sabine Schmidtke and Swen Seifert (both Germany) taking the titles.

In 2011 Second Polish Open moved to new venue (Police, near Szczecin) and it was a big success. Over 320 players from 15 countries and titles went to Deta Hedman and Darryl Fitton (both England).

3rd Polish Open in 2012 was another record breaker with 379 entrants from 17 countries and titles went yet again to England, with Deta Hedman defending her 2011 title and Tony O’Shea winning mens competition.

The evolution of Polish darts has not gone unnoticed  and the Polish Darts Organisation recently signed an exclusive contract with Winmau to make Blade 4 official dartboard of the next Winmau Polish Open.