Get your tickets for the 2024 Lakeside World Championship now

Scott Waites and Trina Gulliver win Dutch Open Darts 2013

Scott Waites and Trina Gulliver are the champions of the 35th edition of the Dutch Open Darts. Waites was in a thrilling final too strong for his component James Wilson. Nine-times Lakeside champion Gulliver stood for the fifth time with her hands in the air at the Dutch Open Darts stage, after previous victories in 1999, 2007, 2009 and 2011.

In the final Gulliver was too strong for Loraine Farlam and in the semifinals she managed to beat Deta Hedman. Farlam managed to win from the Dutch lady Aileen de Graaf in the semi-finals. Gulliver took in the final a quick 3-0 lead and it seemed to become an easy victory. Farlam, however, came back strongly but in the end she lost from the 42-year-old Gulliver. A day earlier, the English lady became also pairs champion with Zoe Jones. Gulliver won next to ranking points also € 2250, – in the singles tournament and € 750, – for the couples victory.

The final between Scott Waites and James Wilson was an exciting battle. It certainly was not an easy victory for the Lakeside champion. Wilson took the lead but in the deciding set Waites was stronger. With his second Dutch Open Darts title Waites wins € 5,000.

Earlier today the youth tournament was played. A total of 203 participants played in the youth tournament divided into three categories. It was a very international field with three winners from different countries. Champions were here the Russian Mikhail Kuriticin, Casey Gallegher and the Dutchman Quin Wester.

Youth Finals:
Mikhail Kuriticin (Rus) – Viani van den Bergh (Bel) 3-2

Casey Gallagher (Eng) – Fenna Bouwman (Ned) 3-0

Quin Wester (Ned) – Colin Roelofs (Ned) 4-3